BAU Launches its 56th Batch of Students and Grants an Honorary Doctorate to Majida El Roumi

03 July 2019


Beirut Arab University graduated its 56th class of 1213 graduates distributed among ten faculties in addition to 101 master's and 42 doctoral graduates during its grand annual ceremony held in Debbieh Campus. The ceremony included awarding the honorary doctorate in Human Sciences to Diva Majida El Roumi in recognition of her distinguished artistic and cultural career.

The event was attended by President Michel Aoun represented by Minister of Displaced Ghassan Atallah, Speaker of the Parliament of Lebanon Mr. Nabih Berri represented by MP Dr. Bilal Abdullah, HE President of the Council of Ministers H.E. Saad Hariri represented by MP Mohammad Hajjar, HE Fouad Seniora represented by Dr. Ammar Houri, Ambassador of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia to Lebanon Walid Al-Bukhari, Ambassador of the Arab Republic of Egypt Nazih Al-Najari, Ambassador of the State of Palestine in Lebanon Ashraf Dabbour represented by Mr. Maher Mshaeil, Ambassador of Morocco to Lebanon Mr. Mohamed Kareem represented by Mrs. Wafaa Al-Omrani, Secretary General of the Union of Arab Universities Professor Amr Ezzat, Vice President of the former Jordanian government Tawfic Krishan, President of the Alumni in Jordan Mahmoud Qutaishat, President of the Future University in Egypt Professor Obadah Serhan, Chairman of the Egyptian Lebanese Friendship Society Fathalla Fawzi, President of the BAU Board of Trustees Dr. Said Al-Jazairi, Editor-in-Chief of Al-Ahram Alaa Tabet, as well as heads of municipalities, hospital directors and representatives of the military bodies.

The ceremony opened with the recitation of verses from the Holy Quran by Sheikh Hasan Merheb followed by the Lebanese National Anthem and BAU Anthem.

Ms. Zina Ariss, Director of Public Relations, delivered a speech in which she called the graduates to " interact with their surroundings for the better, be representatives of the clear conscience, truth, reason and ethics,” and to be proud of their university for being “their warm refuge and secure fortress”.

The graduates’ speech was delivered by student Hassan AL-Banna from the Faculty of Architecture-Design and Built Environment who expressed his gratitude towards the university and professors for embracing their students. AL-Banna addressed his fellow graduates by saying, "The idea and goal of all that you have learned is that end which no one else knows but you, so beware of getting a degree just to be counted among the graduates."

In his speech, BAU President Professor Amr Galal El-Adawi stated that “year after year, Beirut Arab University confirms its lofty academic message that adheres to originality and addresses the international quality standards with excellence, which enabled BAU to obtain international accreditations."

El-Adawi assured that after the university "had achieved the objectives of the 2020 strategy, we started to work on the development of a new strategy to build future leaders of students in Lebanon and the Arab world who shall participate in decision-making, bring about change and achieve renaissance as the future is waiting for educational institutions to prepare, make, and nourish leaders.” He called on the students to be "leaders with a vision that branches out into the future though deep-rooted in the past.”

After her honorary doctorate ceremony, Ms. Majida El Roumi gave a speech in which she thanked BAU for granting her this degree in Debbieh in particular “being the birthplace of the father of the Arab enlightenment educator Butros Bustani, who inspired the generations with his intellect, called for the liberation of women, established schools, preserved the Arabic language, and developed the first modern dictionary and the first cultural association”.

Addressing the graduates, El-Roumi said, "Support Lebanon to support you. Lift it up on your shoulders to lift you up. Stay in Lebanon to remain for you. Endure scarcity as it never lasts forever.”

Afterwards, certificates were distributed on the graduates including the Jamal Abdel Nasser and Issam Houri Awards for Academic Excellence. The ceremony ended with celebrations and fireworks.