Science teaches what evidence is and what proof is. Science is an essential part of the curriculum as it is the only subject which affords knowledge of certain facts and laws and helps in achieving the main objective of education.

The Faculty of Science houses four departments: Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics & Computer Science and Biological & Environmental Sciences. It offers undergraduate programs leading to bachelor's degrees as well as graduate education leading to Master and PhD degrees in most fields, and Diploma/Master degree in Radiation Protection. The current success of the Faculty of Science derives from its achievements in both teaching and research, and the commitment it has shown in ensuring that these two aspects are integrated where appropriate.